Local Schools Receive Safety Grants From New State Program

HARRISBURG – A number of local schools were awarded state grants today to help improve student safety through a new program supported by Senator Richard Alloway II (R-33).

The School Safety and Security Grant Program was created by lawmakers earlier this year to provide grants to school districts, intermediate units, area vocational-technical schools, charter schools and private residential rehabilitative institutions for a wide variety of projects to improve school safety.

Eligible grant uses include hiring security officers, purchasing security-related technology, completing safety and security assessments, implementing violence prevention curricula, offering counseling services for students and creating other student protection programs.

Each local school district that applied through the program was awarded a grant of $25,000. Local grant recipients include:

  • Bermudian Springs School District,
  • Conewago Valley School District,
  • Fairfield Area School District,
  • Gettysburg Area School District
  • Littlestown Area School District,
  • Upper Adams School District,
  • Shippensburg Area School District,
  • Chambersburg Area School District,
  • Waynesboro Area School District,
  • Hanover Public School District, and
  • South Western School District.

“These grants would not have been possible without the bipartisan cooperation of lawmakers and the valuable input of schools, teachers, students, law enforcement and other school safety experts,” said Senator Alloway. “Protecting our schools was a point of emphasis for me during the budget process and I am grateful that our local schools will see the benefits of this new grant program.”

The new program was created as part of a comprehensive school safety bill that was signed into law in June. More than $60 million in new funding was dedicated in the current year’s budget to improve school safety.

More information on school safety measures under consideration in the General Assembly is available online at https://www.pasenategop.com/school-safety/.

CONTACT: Scot Andrew Pitzer (717.787.4651), spitzer@pasen.gov.